2 years and 526 posts

20131223-075130.jpg
(A Lego mock-up of my office)

It is just coming up to two years since I started this blog. I began around mid-January 2012. This is my 526th post. I’m actually quite surprised that it has lasted this long and that I’ve posted so much. I was a bit unsure what to do with the blog in the early weeks. I followed the model of Stuart Elden’s Progressive Geographies blog, that gave me a bit of guidance. I’ve ended up replicating the approach of curating interesting content, usually on the broadly conceived topic of ‘culture’, with some more substantive posts about the things I’ve read, my modules, web cultures, academic practice and in response to cultural events and the like. I discussed the blog and my approach a little while ago in this interview with Mark Carrigan. I’ve pretty much stuck to the approach I discussed with Mark back then.

What has surprised me is how well the blogging has fitted into my work. I’ve actually found that it has helped me with my research and writing (and has also been used a few times as a resource for my students). I’ve used it a few tomes to capture and develop ideas. recently, for example, I used a series of posts as the basis for a presentation. I’ve posted before about the value of blogging. The audience for the blog is still very modest, but it is worth the effort and I’ve enjoyed putting it together as a kind of archive that can be used to locate thinking about culture. My plan is to carry on with the blog for the foreseeable future. It’s turned into a productive endeavour and it seems worth continuing. I hope the blog has proved to be a useful resource for others, and a few people have been kind enough to give me positive feedback about it. The plan for 2013 will be to continue to link into my research, which will move more towards my interests in culture and social theory, and to post links to materials that fit the blog’s themes. I’ll also be linking across to the Theory, Culture & Society site as we continue to add new content on there. I really hope that the blog has been of some use and that it might continue to be.

This entry was posted in web cultures, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

