Revisiting the classics – William Mitchell’s Me++: The Cyborg Self and the Networked City

20130916-210843.jpg

It’s been around 18 months since I took over as reviews editor at Information, Communication & Society. I’ve previously posted some reflections on being a reviews editor. I’m going to continue posting the reviews for ICS on this blog as they are published online (I’ve been doing this for a while now). When I took on the job I made one or two small changes. I made the reviews a little longer (500-2000 words), amongst other things. I thought it might be interesting to get some reviews of older books during significant anniversaries, rather than just focusing on new books. The first of these ‘revisiting the classics’ review symposiums has now been published in the journal. It contains a collection of three reviews of William Mitchell’s Me++: The Cyborg Self and the Networked City. It is ten years since the original publication of the book. The reviews, which have been available for a little while online first, have been provided by Roger Burrows, Mark Johnson and Sam Kinsley. The section is available in the current issue, which can be found here.

As things stand I don’t have a similar section set up for 2014 (any ideas are welcome). I’ve ended up working quite hard to keep in top of the reviews section. Because of a change in the journal format the publisher wanted to clear the backlog of reviews, which was great because it meant the the queue of reviews was removed. But it means I’ve been concentrating my efforts on getting plenty of reviews in place for issues in 2014 (although these reviews are all published online first within weeks of submission). I’ve got around 14 reviews lined up for 2014, with quite a few more commissioned – again see my reflections in this process and its difficulties in this post. This has meant though that I’ve not yet put together another of these revisiting the classics review sections. If I get time in the next few weeks I’ll try to put another together. I’m really pleased with how this one turned out.

This entry was posted in cultural theory, infrastructures, mobile devices, software, space and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

