Deborah Lupton with 30 tips for successful research and writing

The LSE blog has 30 tips for successful academic research and writing from Deborah Lupton. There are some really helpful points here. The planning ahead one is a big of a tricky point. I often find that I have a mixture of short-term and long-term plans, that often alter as I adapt them to my enthusiasms. My favourite point from Deborah’s list is probably the first one, which is also the one that reminds me most of C Wright Mills notes on intellectual craftsmanship:

Choose something to research/write about that you are passionately interested in. I find that most of my research and writing tends to spring from wanting to find out more or understand more about a particular phenomenon that intrigues me. In explaining it to myself I end up explaining it to others, hopefully in a new and interesting way that is worthy of publication.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Deborah Lupton with 30 tips for successful research and writing

  1. Thank you for the helpful tips.

  2. stuartelden says:

    Reblogged this on Progressive Geographies and commented:
    Some excellent tips for writing.

Leave a Reply

