Playing with Google scholar citation profiles?

I’ve just been having a play about with my Google Scholar citation profile. Roger Burrows showed me this quite a while ago, but i’ve just got around to building a proper profile. Once you enter your name and email, the application suggests the publications that might be yours. You can then add, remove and merge publications until it’s correct. This took a little while for me as it turns out there is another David Beer out there. Once you’ve got the publications list right your can see the finished profile with a graph of citations by year, a count of total citations, a h-index and and i10-index. The papers are then listed with their specific citation counts. Probably most people have come across these by now. Here is a screen grab of my profile:

gs2

So I can see that my total citations are 665 and that i have a h-index of 12 (so, i’ve got 12 publications that have been cited 12 or more times).

There is an option to make this profile public. Then when people search on Google Scholar they can open up your citation profile. I’ve decided not to do this at the moment, as I’ve got quite a few things I need to keep updated. This profile autmatically updates with new publications, but i’m guessing that it might bring in a few from people with simmilar names etc. So there is going to be a bit of labour in keeping it accurate. I’ll leave it for now. I’ve been searching around and i’ve so far found quite a few public profiles. John Urry’s citation profile is well worth a visit. He’s managed 33,406 citations so far. I was wondering what people might make of the visibility of these patterns of citation. Its an interesting development, but it does raise questions about the role of metrics in research and how we might ‘live with the h-index’.

This entry was posted in data and dataplay, metrics, visualisation, web cultures, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Playing with Google scholar citation profiles?

  1. Pingback: Foucault’s h-index score | Thinking culture

Leave a Reply

