Another interview with Jack White

Another interview here with Jack White in support of his new solo music. Again he goes into some detail about his creative processes. Particularly the way he forces restrictions on himself to push new directions and new ideas:

This is clearly one more backing band than is strictly necessary. Why are you doing this? “Well, to make it harder on myself. I really don’t like to take the easy way out, if I can help it, on anything I do, I like to really make it a challenge. I don’t know how to create by taking the easy routes.” He laughs. “I’ve tried, you know, I’ve tried to let myself, but I always struggle to compensate.

I’m sure though that the following is just an attempted joke aimed at getting people to rip up their furniture in the hope of finding a White rarity:

On one occasion, he and another upholsterer formed a band – called the Upholsterers – pressed 100 copies of a single, and hid them inside furniture they were restoring. “Not one’s been found yet,” he chuckles. “They were on clear vinyl with transparency covers, so even if you x-rayed the furniture you wouldn’t be able to find them. I know where a couple of them might be, but it’s very funny in that sense.

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

